Mehta Rice Engineering Scholars Program

The Mehta Rice Engineering Scholars Program is designed for exceptional graduate  students who are interested in pursuing a career in research and innovation. This program provides students with the chance to work alongside top researchers, inventors, and entrepreneurs, and gain valuable experience that will set them up for a successful career in their chosen field. Outstanding students will be selected from the most prestigious institutions in India to come to the United States and spend four months at Rice University. Scholars will be hosted by a Rice Engineering Faculty based on research topic interest and the selection committee’s recommendation .

As a Mehta Rice Engineering Scholar, students will have access to a wide range of resources, including:

  • Opportunities to participate in cutting-edge research projects.
  • Access to state-of-the-art equipment and facilities.
  • Mentorship and guidance from leading researchers and entrepreneurs.
  • Networking opportunities with other Mehta Rice Engineering Scholars and industry leaders.

How to Apply

Students interested in applying should prepare a comprehensive application package, which includes:

  • A CV
  • A two-page research proposal
  • The names of 2 to 3 Rice faculty members whose research aligns with their interests
  • A letter of recommendation from their faculty advisor in India

Acceptance into the program is subject to the host institution covering the expenses for international travel.

Application Calendar

  • April 12, 2024: Application deadline
  • May, 17, 2024: Applicant selection
  • September 3, 2024: New Mehta Rice Engineering Scholars begin work in host labs

Current Scholars

Apply to be a 2024 Scholar and see your photo here!

Previous Scholars

2023 Scholars

Ashwin Aravind
IIT Bombay

Rice University Faculty:
Cesar Uribe

Sikander Bind
IIT Kanpur

Rice University Faculty:
Lisa Biswal

Tanay Biswas
IIT Kanpur

Rice University Faculty:
Isaac Hilton

Laavanya Devarajan
IIT Madras

Rice University Faculty:
Kevin McHugh

Gireesh Kandappanthodi
IISER Thiruvananthapuram

Rice University Faculty:
Jun Kono

Srilekshmi M

Rice University Faculty:
Ramesh Ramamoorthy

Atanu Purkayastha
IIT Guwahati

Rice University Faculty:
Aditya Mohite

Prem Raj
IIT Kanpur

Rice University Faculty:
Vaibhav Unhelkar

Saloni Sharma

Rice University Faculty:
Pulickel Ajayan